Christianity and Bad Attitudes

I know a lot of Christians who look like dirt bags and jackasses. I admit, I am probably one of them. It is surely something that most of us could improve upon. This is a subject that I have thought about many times over the years. How do we look to others?

In my life, I have had Christian and non-Christian bosses. I have had Christian business partners as well. Do you care to guess which ones were the worst to work beside? That’s right, the Christian business people were the worst, by far! They were greedy, mean spirited, and ready to screw over anybody for their own personal gain. The non-Christian bosses I have had, on the other hand, have respected me and treated me like a valuable employee. Not only that, but our relationships didn’t end up in disaster either. We still talk to each other. We still get along with each other. This has not been the case with the Christians. Sad.

A while back, my wife and I were looking to have some work done. We asked many people who they would recommend. Sadly enough, those who recommended fellow Christians weren’t taken much into consideration. I know that not all Christian business owners are bad people. My wife is a business owner and she is awesome. I know of several other Christian business owners that are great as well. But from my personal experience, the majority of them seem to be more crooked than the non-Christians. If I feel this way about Christians, what do other people think of us?

This doesn’t just concern business people though. This is for all of us, myself included. I know that I have come across looking like a jerk more times than I would like to admit. I have been angry at coworkers, friends, family and people that I don’t even know. I have thrown tantrums and said things that I wish I could take back. I try to do good but don’t always make it. I am happy to say that I am more aware of my actions today than I used to be though.

We, as Christians, need to check our attitudes on a daily basis. We will often mess up. Everybody does. But if we make it a point to be more aware of how we look to others, I think we would be showing Christianity in a much better and more positive light.

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do people light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a stand, and it gives light to all in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, so that they may see your good works and give glory to your Father who is in heaven.” Matthew 5:14-16

3 thoughts on “Christianity and Bad Attitudes

  1. Irene says:

    So true, Patrick! I still am resistant to working with Christians because of past experience, even though I feel much better about it here. Pretty sad though.

  2. Thanks Irene. I agree, it is sad.

  3. Denise says:

    A reminder to check my attitude is always a good thing:)

Leave a Reply

